Cartoons and Animations

What I’ve noticed lately is that almost every second person dislikes cartoons and/or animated movies. They frown at their mention and laugh at people who watch them. But why? Do they think it’s childish? Because it isn’t. It’s a form of art as much as acting in movies without this technology. They avoid them like the plague, as if they’re forced to watch a real version of the tape in The Ring. Are you so pitiful that you don’t want others to criticize you for what you watch? If so, then this is what is wrong with the world.

People need to grow up. And with this I don’t mean stop watching “childish stuff”, but to stop caring what others will say about them. If it is proper advice listen to it, but if it’s a blind critic you have nothing to do with it. I have watched cartoons and animated since I’ve been a baby and I am proud to say I still do so without a problem. They’re not something I watch on a daily basis, but I love them nonetheless. Because thanks to them I have improved my English language skills, I have increased my logic and my creativity, and I have learned valuable life lessons and morals.

You might find it funny, but I have learned more in life by watching animated movies, animated TV shows. and watching cartoons, than I have learned by watching movies and TV shows. Nowadays most of the movies are pure nonsense, the plot and the writing itself is no good at all, the actors are the only thing people watch them for. Most of my current favorite things are animated movies or cartoons:

  • Favorite Hero/Heroine Movie – The Lion King (1994) & Mulan (1998)
  • Favorite Music Movie – Spirit: Stallion of the Cimarron (2002)
  • Favorite Romantic Movie – Up (2009)
  • Favorite Comedy Movie – Despicable Me (2010)
  • Favorite TV Show – The Legend of Korra (2012)

Of course I have some other favorites along with these, but just trying to prove that there is nothing wrong with animations. Quite often they are much better than what the box office can offer. Therefore I must say I’m really looking forward to watching Disney-Pixar’s Brave that hits the theaters this weekend. I’m more excited about seeing this than I am about watching the overrated thing called Avengers. Sure, it’s a super hero movie and has some quality cast, but it just doesn’t do the thing for me. I watched the first 30 minutes online and I was not impressed in any way, I was actually rather bored. I have yet to get myself to go watch the whole movie, but I’m honestly not dying with excitement to see it.

I think the only 4 movies I was looking forward to this year were The Hunger Games, Brave, The Dark Knight Rises, and The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey. The first was okay, nothing special but not a total disappointment either. Now I just need to wait and see the other 3 and see how the year has gone by. But yes, in the long run, I enjoy TV shows way more than movies nowadays. Movies no longer have that special feeling they once had. Even the fairytale remakes have been so horrid I’m afraid to go to the cinema. Kristen Stewart as Snow White? Seriously? If I actually see Snow White and the Hunstman it will be because of Charlize Theron, Chris Hemsworth, and the fact that the trailer looked really good. The plot might actually be decent.

Failure in one way or another, that is what has been going on with movies these days. I think the best match cast-wise for these fairytale remakes so far is Angelina Jolie as Maleficent in Maleficent (2014). Have you seen Jolie’s first photo? She’s looks so fierce and stunning it makes me think this movie might be better than any Sleeping Beauty story told yet. Of course we can’t just randomly estimate things, so I’ll judge after I see it. But yes, I have Brave on my list first and that is happening sometime soon.

In the end, regardless of what you enjoy watching, I sure hope you don’t criticize other people’s taste. πŸ™‚

2 comments

  1. That does get irritating when someone criticizes something on & on just because THEY don’t like it. To each their own…I enjoy watching cartoons / animations too. Some by choice – others not (just because my kids are watching). Movies I’ve enjoyed (off the top of my head): Jungle Book, Toy Story, Shrek, Kung Fu Panda, Lion King. I’m sure there are others – but – they escape my memory at this point.

    Like

Leave a Reply

