Sadness, Be Gone!

I’ve been a bit behind on both writing and reading blog posts, and I truly am sorry about that. I wish I had more time on my hands, but alas, I cannot travel in time. Anyway, this post is on request of a certain dorky person I love a lot. She’s been feeling sad, and I’m here to change that!

We meet new people on a daily basis, but when exactly do we classify one as a friend? From what point do we decide to allow ourselves to trust them? The only right answer here would be “it doesn’t matter.” What is important is to not become dependent on people. Friends are friends, they’re fun to have around, but it also hurts when they leave or turn their back on you. So one needs to be able to keep their distance, at least until they’re sure they have chosen the right company.

In my 20 years of life which seemed rather long, I have changed my group of friends a couple of times at the least. Even nowadays, with the friends with whom I’ve spent the last several years, I cannot consider everyone a true friend. The fact is that the more time you spend with people, you will discover more and more about them and their acts. By observing their deeds you can understand who is worth keeping around and who isn’t. You don’t need a dozen of fake friends in your life, you just need a close few who will be there for you no matter what.

Sure, the more the merrier, but only as long as you know them well and you are sure they can be trusted. Either way, you should never let friendship become a necessity. Support is great, but family should also be able to provide that, and even if it can’t, there is still no excuse for leading your life in the form of liability. Everyone has their weak and strong sides, you need to work on improving the first and channeling the latter to maximum. This way you will provide yourself with support, instead of relying on other people. Because if someone who trusts becomes someone who hurts you, you will find yourself in a bad place.

Yet not trusting anyone won’t do you any good, you need to open yourself to others. You need to let go of your stress and emotions in order to prevent a possible explosion in your head. But, you also must take care and never linger on the past or lost friends. Friends are like cookies – the really good ones are very rare. And you also need to work on those cookies if they are to become very good – your actions can influence others and make them better people (or well, worse people otherwise).

Basically, don’t feel bad if you break a friendship because that “friend” hurt you. If they were your friend they wouldn’t have hurt you in the first place. You are the tree of life, they are rotten branches – cut them off. No worries, you’ll grow new ones very soon. As long as the sun is shining and your feet are on the Earth, this circle will never end. Let the bad branches fall and spring new ones, better ones, show the old ones that it’s them who have lost, not you.

You are as radiant and beautiful as the sun is – act that way. Don’t let a few small rocks from outer space screw up your route. Let your ignorance burn them down, turn the way your true friends are. *hugs* ๐Ÿ™‚

7 comments

  1. You said it – especially towards the end: “Basically, donโ€™t feel bad if you break a friendship because that โ€œfriendโ€ hurt you. If they were your friend they wouldnโ€™t have hurt you in the first place…turn the way your true friends are.
    Oh – and the hugs too ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  2. I loved this post. I have changed my circle a lot over recent years – and have pretty much culled anyone who I had a bad thing to say about. I decided that if they were my friend, I would have nothing bad to say.

    As for the question of when one becomes a friend, I tend to think this happens when the person has been there for you, has supported you, and has taken one of your middle of the night “i’m going crazy!” phone calls.

    My best friend and I only met a year ago, yet I knew within a matter of days that she would end up being majorly important to my life – and I was right. We had a connection (as cliche as it sounds) and just clicked. I love her, and would have been lost without her this last twelve months.

    xxx

    Like

    1. Glad you’ve met such a great friend, even if it was just recently. As you said, those are the people who we can call for support even in the crazy middle-of-the-night hours. They are the rarest gems out there.
      Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts!

      Like

Leave a Reply

